Monday, July 22, 2024
HomeGovernance and SocietyPolitico names Visit Faroe Islands’ Guðrið Højgaard among 28 people shaping Europe...

Politico names Visit Faroe Islands’ Guðrið Højgaard among 28 people shaping Europe in 2019

The international political publication Politico has named Guðrið Højgaard, director of Visit Faroe Islands, as one among 28 people to be shaping, shaking and stirring Europe in 2019.

The publication highlighted Guðrið and Visit Faroe Islands’ creative initiatives in recent years.

“For two years running, clever initiatives have earned her group Cannes Lion awards, the marketing world’s version of the Oscars,” said Politico.

The marketing campaigns referred to are 2016’s Sheep View, in which cameras were strapped on sheep to map the islands for Google, and 2017’s Faroe Islands Translate, which used local volunteers to provide live, custom video translations in an effort to include the Faroese language on Google Translate.

The list, called Politico 28, is a guide to the doers, dreamers and disruptors most likely to shape our world. Guðrið is the first Faroe Islander and only the second person to work in tourism chosen by Politico, the other being Michael O’Learly, CEO of Ryanair.

“It’s unbelievable to be the first Faroe Islander chosen by Politico,” said a delighted Guðrið. “I dedicate this award to my fantastic team at Visit Faroe Islands, to our many partners in the Faroe Islands and abroad and to all the people of the Faroe Islands.”

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Trade, Poul Michelsen, welcomed the news: “This is a well-deserved recognition for Guðrið herself and indeed for all those working to develop the Faroese tourist industry. Tourism in the Faroe Islands is in an exciting period of growth and is helping to diversify and strengthen our small economy.”

Politico considered next year’s most influential person in Europe to be Italian Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of the Interior Matteo Salvini, who is also the leader of the right-wing regionalist party Lega Nord. Others on this year’s list include Niklas Zennström, founder of Skype, Ine Marie Eriksen Søreide, Norwegian Minister of Foreign Affairs, Jeremy Corbyn, Leader of the British Labour Party and Pedro Sánchez, Prime Minister of Spain. Previous winners include René Redzepi, founder of NOMA, and Daniel Ek, founder of Spotify.

Words: Levi Hanssen
Originally published on: Faroeislands.fo
Image credits: Kringvarp Føroya (Kvf.fo)


Most Recent

This website collects data via Google Analytics. Click here to opt in. Click here to opt out. ?