Monday, May 20, 2024
HomeArts & CultureHamferð has been nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize 2018

Hamferð has been nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize 2018

Faroese doom metal band Hamferð has been nominated for the Nordic Council Music Prize 2018, reports Norden.org.

The Adjudication Committee has nominated 13 works, including Hamferð, for the Nordic Council Music Prize 2018. The nominated works were announced during the Bergen International Festival in Norway on 31 May.

John Egholm (guitar) founded Hamferð in 2008; he called Remi Johannesen (drums) and they started jamming. The first show was in a band competition called GBOB (Global Battle Of The Bands) and Hamferð actually reached the national final of the competition. Meanwhile, Theodor Kapnas (guitar), who was studying audio engineering in Sweden, joined the band and most of the writing happened online. At that time Hamferð were joined by current keyboard member Esmar Joensen to complete the lineup.

Hamferðs’ main influence is said to be the Faroe Islands themselves, “where the sea and the long cold winter play the major role as main contributors.”

Current members:
Jón Aldará – Vocals (2008–Present)
John Áki Egholm – Guitars (2008–Present)
Theodor Kapnas – Guitars (2009–Present)
Esmar Joensen – Keyboards (2009–Present)
Ísak Petersen – Bass (2014–Present)
Remi Kofoed Johannesen – Drums (2008–Present)

The winner of the Nordic Council Music Prize and DKK 350,000 will be announced on 30 October at the Oslo Opera House in conjunction with the Session of the Nordic Council.

The Nordic Council Music Prize is awarded for musicianship of the highest standard, to a piece by a living composer one year and to an ensemble or group the next.

Jacob Anderskov
Thomas Agerfeldt Olesen

Mikko Joensuu
Outi Tarkiainen

Faroe Islands

Georg Olsen

Daníel Bjarnason
Hugi Guðmundsson

Nils Henrik Asheim
Synne Skouen

Magnus Lindgren
Tebogo Monnakgotla

Lars Karlsson


Most Recent

This website collects data via Google Analytics. Click here to opt in. Click here to opt out. ?