Danish PM calls parliamentary election in June

Prime Minister Lars Løkke Rasmussen has called a general election in Denmark for June 5th.

All 179 members of the Folketing (the Danish parliament) will be elected, 175 in Denmark proper, two in the Faroe Islands and two in Greenland.

The last election for the Danish parlament was on Thursday 18 June 2015.

2015 voter turnout in the Faroe Islands was 65.6%.

Article continues below ad

Magni Arge of Tjóðveldi (the Republican Party) and Sjúrður Skaale of Javnaðarflokkurin (the Social Democratic Party) have represented the Faroe Islands in the Folketing since 2015.

Elections for the Faroese parliament (løgtingið) will take place later this year.

Share this article on social media:

Most Popular


Local.fo is the only English-language newspaper in the Faroe Islands reporting Faroese news exclusively.

The Local.fo website was launched in January 2018 and the printed edition was first published in June 2018.

Advertise with us

Local.fo, via its printed edition and this website, reaches over 50,000 readers every month.

We are happy to offer you competitive prices on a variety of print and online advertising options.

Click here for more information.

Contact us

Grønlandsvegur 38 – Tórshavn, FO-100 – Faroe Islands

Jens Hákun Leo – [email protected]

Press releases/news tips:
[email protected]

© Local.fo | Grønlandsvegur 38 | FO-100 Tórshavn | Faroe Islands

To Top